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We want to and will make it easy for schools to keep their staff, pupils, parents, partners, other stake-holders and wider community informed, updated and engaged.

Now, by merely typing in the text you can do it too!

It's so easy even 7 year old children can do it. If you are able to move a mouse, click a few buttons and string a few sentences together you can maintain a cutting edge site.

We'll give you all the training you'll need, support you on the phone or with email, all to make sure you get the best out of your investment.

Our killer features are:
Superb content management and blog software. Excellent Google optimisation.
An email to weblog interface, making updating your school blog a doddle. 
Top draw support and feedback.

Try a demo or build your

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school website yourself. What will you write today's school news to be?

Archive page for Saturday, 23 September 2006

 Sa, Sep 23, 2006
The local shop's sales call
Were you to appear at the local shop demanding money for an ad on the local school site, the shopkeeper would, no doubt, wearly pass you a few quid, just to get rid of you.

Tell the shopkeeper the site has 1,000 visitors a day, many of them repeat, most local. Parents, kids, neighbours. The great and the good of the local community, drop some town burghers' names, these are members of the site, and some post news items. Tell the shopkeeper of the reviewers, all 450 of them, who like to and will write about local shops. All those parents, friends of parents, all will see the shop's ad and think favourably of the shop.

The shopkeeper will know if it works, because he'll see the click throughs. To where? To his landing page, as he'll probably not have a site of his own. On that page will be a form where happy kids, parents can send him an email, saying how nice his shop is. Goodwill will flow, literally.

For £30, he'll get 7,500 eyeballs. And loads and loads of love :-) Local love! Love from around the corner, up the street. And a postcard to put into his shop window: "I advertise on CraigyDon.conwy.sch.uk" With a heart in the background :-)

All this with a professional sales pack and presentation.
# Posted by Steve Hooker at 23/9/06; 11:51:38 PM to the Ads for schoools dept.
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The local shop's sales call



More ads than you can shake a stick at
It's like Times Square! Here's a visual of different ads and different sizes and different prices.
Quick visual of regular ad sizes in context with an actual school template
Quick visual of regular ad sizes in context with an actual school template. Sure the design will need to be re-jigged in design to compensate for the ads.


Prices are per month for 30,000 page views. Assuming there's a company that will spend £1,080 for the top biggest ad (maybe a large hotel or industrial complex) and one business for the £900 ad and so on, then the inventory is fully sold.

Of course, there aren't that many businesses that will spend £1,080, not initially, not without a high click through rate and a high conversion rate, or perhaps they really need to lift their profile for a month, say at Christmas of during the Summer holidays. The 30,000 showings can be split, say 10,000. So we'd be looking for 3 businesses to spend £360. A more resonable proposition, for local small businesses. (And remember all this goes to the local school. Old Uncle Steve, isn't here to cream this, he's here to sell websites :-)

The smaller ads, for the local news agent at £120 for 30,000 showings for the month, would be split too, say to 3 businesses spending £40 for 10,000 showings.

Now, to get Craig y Don up from 15,000 page views a month to 30,000+
# Posted by Steve Hooker at 23/9/06; 1:11:52 PM to the Ads for schoools dept.
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More ads than you can shake a stick at



School ads revisited
Let's do that again. Average good rate ads in the US, on targetted sites is $35 (£18) Cost Per Thousand (CPM) showings. We think we can fit 6 ads per page view, each and every page, front and internal pages.

£18 x 6 ads = £108 per 1,000 page views.
In otherwords, each time someone visits your site, you have the potential of earning 10.8p. Get 1,000 page views in one day = £108/day.

To do this, for a month, a full sale of your ad inventory, and staying at 1,000 page views a day = £3,240/mo

Craig y Don will need to sell 6 ads, everyday for 30 days. Or, monthly packages split like this:
  • 180 businesses at £18 buying 1,000 ad showings.
  • 60 businesses at £54 buying 3,000 ad showings.
  • 30 businesses at £108 buying 6,000 ad showings.
  • 15 businesses at £216 buying 12,000 ad showings.
  • 5 businesses at £648 buying 36,000 ad showings.
Of course, this is assuming a full sale of inventory, and 1,000 page views a day. Assuming all ad positions are the the same, and there's no discount/incentives for bulk buying--the 36,000 pack would sell for £490, for example.

Schools have a saleable resource--eyeballs, attention, goodwill, visible philathropy.

Before well trafficked school blogs, when schools' sites stood still, like a coffee table brochure, glanced at once, never looked at again, schools didn't have that saleable resource. Blogs, draw traffic, local traffic. Holds them (is sticky). They can grow loyal traffic. Think of the possible number of editors, 30 staff + 20 committed parents + 10 governors and assorted stakeholders. 300 kiddie contibutors + 150 parents, friends. This is a huge, almost national newspaper workforce. Let's get serious about what a local school's weblog can be. A community resource, information, discussion, help and advice. As well as all the learning :-)

Lots of businesses need to advertise--your customers want your product. Lots of parents and stakeholders need to help the school--your salesforce will work for nothing.
# Posted by Steve Hooker at 23/9/06; 12:42:49 AM to the Ads for schoools dept.
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Ads revisited